UNIT 29 AND 30: feedback on my final images

I produced a questionnaire and handed out to my class mates. I made this questionnaire to find out what people though of my final images. I wanted to find this out because I wanted an unbiased opinion of my final images so I could improve. I have also asked this question if one image was to be taken out what would that image be because I want to slim line the amount of images I have. Below are the answers to my questionnaire:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

An answer for the first question “What do you like/dislike about image 1?” was “I think you caught him at the wrong time with a weird expression” After looking back on the image I do agree on this comment. If I retook this image I would try not to capture that weird expression again and try to capture a better expression.

A common answer for my second question, “What do you like/dislike about image 2?” was, there was a shoulder of a passer by which needed to be removed. I definitely agree with this answer but as this was a split second moment there was nothing I could really do about this. If I retook this image I would wait until the passer by was out of the shot before taking it.

An answer for the third question, “What do you like/dislike about image 3?” was “I feel it is a bit out of focus and could of been cropped a bit closer in to the singer” I agree with this answer because I do think I could of gone closer on the busker. I disagree with this answer because I was getting a mix of close ups and distance shots so I have a selection of images to chose from. If I redid this shot I would keep it the same because I wanted to get a mix of images.

For my fourth question, “What do you like/dislike about image 4?” the answers was very postive to this image. However there was a suggestion of the background being busy. Upon reviewing this image I disagree because I think this adds to the image. Another suggestion was to darken the image to add more drama. Upon reviewing this image I disagree because if I darken the image further the image would be under exposed. If I redid this shot I would try to get the busker on to a less busy background because I then can compare it to the image I took originally.

For my fifth question, “What do you like/dislike about image 5?” most answers stated the crop needed to be less. Upon reviewing the image I disagree because I think the crop helps sell the image. Upon reviewing the image I disagree because it gives the image a documentary feel to the image.  If I redid this image I would keep it the same but in post processing I would leave the crop as it.

For my sixth question, “What do you like/dislike about image 6?” a lot of the people stated they prefer the black and white version which is good because personally I prefer the black and white version. Some people answered  her left arm was cropped which didn’t look good. Upon reviewing the image I agree with this answer. To fix this I can go back in photoshop and adjust the crop.

For my seventh question, “What do you like/dislike about image 7?” answers were mixed. One answer was, “her thumb is showing on the bottom either crop this out or re-edit to include her hand” Upon reviewing the image I do agree with this comment because I do think the thumb is distracting. I’ll crop this out before uploading to Flickr.

For my eighth question, “What do you like/dislike about image 8?” many answered they preferred the black and white version which is good because I personally prefer the black and white version. Another common answer was they preferred the facial expression which is good because I was aiming to get good facial expressions because I find facial expressions add impact to the image. One answer was, “Crop hand out of bottom of image. Crop so arms are at the edge of pic” Upon reviewing the image I agree with cropping her hand out because I do find it a distraction. Upon reviewing the image I agree with cropping so the arms are at the edge of the image because it will improve the composition of the image.

For my ninth question, “What do you like/dislike about image 9?” many answered they didn’t like how the left arm was cropped. Upon reviewing the image I agree with this answer because I find it is a strange crop. To improve this I could crop on the right arm so it is similar to the left arm. I could also retake this image and make sure that I don’t crop the left arm.

tally

Above is a tally chart I made because with question nine I asked “If you  were to get rid of one image what would that be and why?”. This tally chart helps me because I can quickly look at the answers put for question nine. Looking at this tally chart image 5 was the image people wanted to be taken out. Upon reviewing this image I disagree because the image relates to my brief very well. I then reviewed image 3 as that was the second image people wanted out. I agree because the zoom is to far out. The image is also blurry which looks unprofessional. After looking at these two images I am going to take out image 3 when uploading to Flickr because out of image 5 and image 3 I think image 3 is not a good image.

Leave a Reply

