UNIT 29 AND 30: Final shoot

During  this shoot I shot RAW and JPEG files because from test shoot 2 I found photoshop cannot process my raw files unless converted to DNG files. I also found out photoshop couldn’t make contact sheets unless the image files was JPEG. The date of the shoot was the 10th March like I mentioned in my final shoot plan post. I also walked around Liverpool One and Lord Street because they are popular locations for buskers to go to. Like I mentioned in my final shoot plan post I used my Nikon D3300 camera because I prefer the image quality over my other camera.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Above are my annotated contact sheets. I made contact sheets because I find it helpful to see all my image so I can highlight the images to look at when it comes to editing. This helps with my editing because I can quickly view the image on my contact sheet and process it through photoshop.

Above is the time lapse video of me editing the shoot. I mainly used the camera raw menu to edit my finals. When I was editing I made sure that I did over edit the image because I found over editing images can kill the image. Before recording I converted the best images to DNG files so photoshop can read my RAW files.

DSC_0061

(unedited)
DSC_0061

(edited)DSC_0061 b&w

(black and white)

I like the facial expressions on the busker because it very similar to how Parr captures his facial expressions. I wanted to achieve this because I really like how Parr captures his facial expressions and I wanted to emulate that in my own documentary photography.         I also like how there are people in the background because I think it gives character to the image. I don’t like how there are people in the background because it is an distraction to the viewers. Upon reflection I don’t think the black and white works because I find the colour really makes the image stand out more because colour highlights the main features of the image. Upon reflection I thin the black and white works because based from my second test shoot I found black and white worked well with this type of photography. I don’t like how there is a person in the background because it takes away the impact of the image. Upon reflection I could of waited until the person was out of the frame as this wasn’t a split second moment. I set my shutter speed to 1/60 because it was bright day therefore a fast shutter speed helps deal with a large amount of light going into the camera. I set my aperture to F.5 because a wide aperture helps me to blur the background which will allow me to deal with distracting elements in the background. I set my ISO to 200 because it was a bright day and if I put my ISO any higher it could cause my images to be overexposed. I think my target audience for this image is anyone who are into music because it is centred around buskers. I also think this because it is a general image. I don’t want to aim for this target audience because I want to aim for the teenage audience because I am a teenager myself therefore I know that audience. As the image is I don’t think I could tailor the image to teenagers but if I retook the image I think I could tailor the image to teenagers. Like I said in my final shoot plan post I used the body of the buskers to hide distracting elements in the background. I did this because distracting elements I think makes the image bad because it makes me as a photographer come across as an amateur. Like I said in my final shoot plan post I used my 50mm lens because I really like the closeness the lens gives the image.

DSC_0081

(Unedited)
DSC_0081

(edited)DSC_0081 b&w

(black and white edited)

I really like the facial expressions in the image because of the emotion in it. I really like the emotion because it shows how passionate the busker is for what he is doing. I don’t like how there is a person on the right in the background because it takes away the impact of the image.  Upon reflection I could of waited until the person was out of the shot but I couldn’t wait because this shot was a split second moment. The black and white version is similar to Henri Cartier-Bresson’s black and white images because like Bresson I used black and white to add impact to the image. I set my shutter speed at 1/80 because it was a bright day therefore a fast shutter speed was needed to ensure the image wasn’t over exposed. I set my aperture f.5 because I wanted to blur out the background so no distracting elements show in the background. I set my ISO at 200 because a low ISO allows me to make sure I have a fast enough shutter speed so my images aren’t over exposed. I think my audience for this image is for anyone who likes music because this image is very general and it is centred around buskers. I don’t want to aim for that audience because I want to aim for the teenage audience because I know that teenage audience because I am a teenager myself. To tailor the image to teenagers I could of not cropped the image and have Forever 21 in the background because most teenagers go to that shop. When taking this shot I found it easy to work around the shadows cast by the shops because they are close together therefore the shadows merged together. I found it easy to work around distracting elements in the background because I mainly used the body of the busker to cover any distracting elements in the background. Like I said in my final shoot plan post I used my 50mm lens because I really like the closeness of the lens because it adds a personal touch to the image.

DSC_0121

(unedited)
DSC_0120

(Edited)DSC_0120 b&w

(Black and white)

I don’t like how far this image is because it doesn’t add impact to the image. I want to have impact in my images because I want my images to give an impression. I don’t like how there are people in the background because it looks unprofessional. I don’t want the images to look unprofessional because I want to come across as a professional photographer. I do like having the people in the background because people are a major part of what a busker is all about. I don’t like the blurriness because it is distracting. I like the blurriness because it emphasizes how much effort he is putting into singing. I prefer the black and white version because it is similar to Henri Cartier-Bresson’s black and white images. The image is similar because when Bresson uses black and white it add impact to the image, The way I use black and white is to add impact like Bresson’s work. Upon reviewing the image I should of cropped on the right side so the white pillar isn’t there because I find it a distraction. I set my shutter speed at 1/80 of a second because it was a bright day therefore a fast shutter speed helps to even out the exposure. I set my aperture at F.5 because a wide aperture allows me to blur the background which will get rid of distracting elements. I set my ISO at 200 because the lower the ISO the less sensitive the camera is to light, as it was a bright day I needed the camera to be less sensitive to light because my camera could of over exposed the image. The target audience I think for this image is anyone who is in music because the image is general and the theme is music. I don’t want to target this audience because I want to target the musical teenagers because I know that audience because I am a teenager myself.

People And Places Final 8

To view the rest of my final images for this brief click the above link.

Leave a Reply

