UNIT 29 AND 30: Test shoot 2

test shoot 2 plan.jpg

Above is a plan for my second test shoot. I created this plan because it will help me remember what I need to test. I am going to go outside to do this test shoot because I think I have now got my techniques down to include natural lighting.

As I didn’t have access to the macs I was unable to screen record my editing process of the test shoot.

I have shot in RAW but converted to TIFF for the best quality because it is professional.

Due to Photoshop unable to read my RAW files I was unable to make a contact sheet of test shoot images. In the future I will set my camera so it shoots both RAW and JPEG. This way I can use the JPEG files to create the contact sheets. I am glad I found this out before my final shoot because I don’t want any problems to arise in my final shoot because it is an important shoot.

DSC_0175

(unedited)DSC_0175 colour

(edited)
DSC_0175(black and white)

I like this image because it clearly shows emotion which is similar to Martin Parr’s work because in some of Parr’s images there is emotion. I also like the emotion because I think it makes my image stand out more. I like how the black and white version because it is like Henri-Cartier Bresson’s work because all of Bresson’s images was black and white. I also like the black and white version because I find it removes the distraction of colour. I find colour distracting because I tend to focus on the colour of the image not the main subject of the image. I like the angle I shot at because it clearly shows the singers facial expressions. Due to this angle you can clearly see the facial expressions which I like because it really makes the image stand out. Looking back at my plan I think I have achieved testing out a 50mm lens because through out this shoot I kept to a 50mm lens. After using a 50mm lens for two test shoots I am confident about using the lens for my final images. I really like the closeness of the 50mm lens because it gives the impression that I knew the person. The 50mm lens is similar to what Bresson and Parr used in their work because of how close they were to the subject. This is something I wanted to replicate because I like how it makes the image stand out. Looking back at my plan I think I have achieved testing out natural lighting because of being out on location. When testing out natural lighting I had to keep turning my ISO up to insure I had a fast enough shutter speed as I was hand holding the camera. When doing my final shoot I will keep this in mind because I found it very important when it came to getting my images to the correct exposure. I want to make sure I have the correct exposure in camera so I don’t have to over edit the image to get the correct exposure. I loved working in natural lighting because of how natural the image looks. I have achieved testing facial expressions because I think I have captured great facial expressions. When it comes to my final images I am going to include facial expressions because I think it makes my images stand out. I have achieved shooting RAW because all my images are RAW. Shooting RAW has allowed me to get great image quality which I wanted to get because great image quality makes for a pleasant viewing. For my final images I am going to shoot RAW because I want to ensure my images are good enough to be viewed. I think the audience for this image is people who are interested in music because it is a image of someone singing. I want to target this audience because my buskers idea is centred around music. I also want to target this audience because  When it came to editing this image I wanted to make sure I didn’t over edit the image because I think over edited images just kill the image no matter how good they are. The first step I did was to ensure the exposure was correct because I find good exposure helps the image stand out. I did this via the brightness slider in the camera RAW menu. Secondly I made sure the white balance was correct because a good white balance also helps make the image stand out. I did this via the temperature slider in the camera RAW menu. Thirdly I cropped image because I found the billboard on the right was distracting. I did this via the crop tool in Photoshop CS6. During the shoot I could of moved to get the billboard out of the frame. Lastly I converted the image to black and white because I really like how the black and white makes the image stand out. The equipment I used for this shot was my Nikon D3300 camera. I made sure I shot RAW so I could get the best image quality because I think the best image quality will make people look at the image more. I set shutter speed to 1/30 seconds, in my opinion this was to slow because I was using a 50mm lens and I should of used a 1/50 seconds or above shutter speed so the removes camera shake. If I did set my shutter speed to 1/50 seconds or above I would have to up  my ISO so the image wasn’t over exposed. I set my aperture at F5 because I had a slow shutter speed so I needed a wide aperture to ensure there was enough light entering my camera. I set my ISO at 400 because I needed a high ISO due to the day being dull. I think this was the correct ISO for the conditions I was shooting in because the day was dull therefore I had to use a high ISO to ensure the camera took in enough light.

DSC_0686

(unedited)

(edited)

(black and white)

I like how the singer is smiling because it gives the impression the singer is happy and enjoying herself. I want to try to do this for my final image because I think it makes the image stand out more. I can see similarities to Martin Parr’s work because how I captured facial expressions is how Parr captures his facial expressions. I don’t like how our work is similar because I want to have my own style not someone else’s style. I really like the black and white because it suits the image. I also like the black and white because it removes the distraction of colour. I find colour a distraction sometimes because you tend to focus on colour more than the main subject of the image. In hindsight I think the edited image is to dark which I don’t like because the details of the image are lost. I went back into Photoshop CS6 to brighten the image up and now that I have done it I think the image is much better because you can see the detail of the image now. Due to the colour image being underexposed the black and white image would be underexposed. I am not to bothered about the black and white image being underexposed because the black and white is meant to be dark. I have looked at the black and white image and I do think it could be brightened up because it is to black in the face. Now that I have brightened the black and white version up in Photoshop CS6 I now like the image because you can see the detail of the image. In the Camera Raw menu of Photoshop I used an adjustment brush because the adjustment brush allows me to make adjustments in a specific area.The adjustment I did was up the clarity on the hair because the clarity helps makes the hair pop. I want to use this editing process for my final images because I think it makes the images stand out. Due to the lighting going darker and darker I had to up the ISO because I was hand holding my Nikon D3300 camera because a tripod would of slow me down and I would of missed a good image. The ISO allowed me to keep the camera at a fast enough shutter speed because the higher the ISO the more sensitive the camera is to light. The audience I think for this image is teenagers who are interested in music because the theme of the image is music. I want this to be my audience because I know the teenage audience because I am a teenager myself. I also want to target the teenagers who like music because it makes sense to do this because my buskers idea is based around music.

 

 

Leave a Reply

