UNIT 33 and 48: Narrative images in Architecture

The reason why I am looking at narrative images in architecture is because I want to capture the iconic buildings in Liverpool for my billboard. Looking at narrative images will help me when I capture my images because I will have an idea on how to include a narrative to my images. I want to include the iconic buildings because they are the most recognizable things in Liverpool. Below is a board I made on Pinterest:

narrtiveAbove is an image I found whilst looking on Pinterest. I think this is classed as a narrative architecture photograph because the woman in the window is giving the building a meaning. For the me the meaning is the woman was possibly abused and gone to window to get away from it. The main thing for me is how the lighting is because I really want to get the correct lighting to make the building “pop”. I think this image was taken on a digital camera. So the settings will be easier to guess because digital camera store the setting data. I am guessing the shutter speed is 1/30 because the image was taken in an alley so a slow shutter speed was needed to make sure the image was bright. I think the aperture is F:5 because a wide aperture is needed to make sure the image was bright enough. I think the ISO is 400 because a high aperture is needed in low light situations.

narrtive 1

Above is an image on Pinterest. I love how the words give the image meaning because it is very clever and simple. The text along with the man gives the image meaning because the man could a driver or a child. I could use this technique to add meaning because I find it is a very simple way of adding narrative image. The image I think was taken on a digital camera because it looks very modern. I am guessing the shutter speed is 1/30 because the picture was taken in a parking lot so the shutter speed needs to be slow to get more light in the image. I guess the aperture is f:2 because a wide aperture allows more light into the camera meaning the image will be correctly exposed. I guessed the ISO is 500 because the image is taken in a low light situation so a low ISO is needed in low light situations. I can take away using words to add meaning to the image.

Leave a Reply

