UNIT 33 AND 48: Ansel Adams

Above is a board I made on Pinterest. Ansel Adams’s work is very good to look at because I am aiming to capture the buildings in the correct lighting, so  Adams’s work is good to look at because his work mainly focuses on getting the subject in the correct lighting.

ansel adams 2

Above is an architecture image by Ansel Adams. I love how the lighting has fallen on the building because this is how I want to capture my images.I also love the lighting because it brings out the detail of the building. I want to replicate this because I really want to get detail on the buildings I am photographing. I want to get the details because detail really adds to the image. The only thing I don’t like about this image is the hazy feel the image has because in my opinion it looks unprofessional. The reason why I think the haze is unprofessional because the haze makes the image not that sharp and in today’s industry un-sharp images are thrown out. Due to Adams shooting film mainly it is hard to guess what his setting was because film camera don’t store setting information like digital cameras. I am guessing the shutter speed is around 1/60 because on a sunny day a fast shutter speed is needed to make sure the image isn’t over exposed. I am guessing the aperture is around F:10-F:11 because on a sunny day a small aperture is needed so the image isn’t over exposed and a small aperture takes in less light. The ISO I think is around 200 because on a sunny day you need a small ISO because the small ISO makes the camera less sensitive to light. I guess he used a tripod because of how sharp the edges of the building is. I will take away the lighting aspects of the image because it is something I want to achieve in my images because it makes my image stand out more.

ansel adams 3

Again I really like the lighting because it brings out the building more. The lighting brings out the building because of how the lighting highlights the features and details of the building. I would improve on the brightness because the image is dull in some areas. The reason why I would improve on the brightness is because the brightness is key to making the image work well. The setting will be hard to guess because Adams shot film and film cameras didn’t store data like digital camera does. I am guessing the shutter speed is 1/100 because of how dull the image is. I would move the shutter speed to 1/70 or 1/80 because a slower shutter speed allows the camera to take more light in. I am guessing the aperture is f:12 because the background is sharp. The smaller the aperture the more sharp your background is going to be. I am guessing the ISO is around 200-400 because the image is dull therefore the camera was less sensitive to light so the lower the ISO the less sensitive the camera is to light. I think Adams also used a tripod because the edge of the buildings is very sharp. I will take away the idea of capturing the building with light because of how the building “pops” when it is captured in the correct lighting.

Leave a Reply

