UNIT 33 AND 48: Henri Cartier-Bresson

above is a board I made on Pinterest about Henri Cartier-Bresson. I really wanted to look at his work to get a really good idea on narrative images because through out his career he has captured narrative images. I can use Bressons techniques for billboard images because the techniques used by Bresson can be transferred into adding meaning into building images. How Bresson adds meaning into images is via burst shooting images and picks out the correct image. For his time this would of been hard because of film cameras. In modern day photography this is made easier by video and continuous shooting.


Henri Cartier-BressonOn the left is an image by Henri Cartier-Bresson.  When I look at this image I feel sympathy for child because he looks sad. The child could be sad because he is leaving his family due to World war 2. I like the image because of the raw emotion of the child’s face because it clearly shows what the child is feeling at that moment in time. I also like how Henri Cartier-Bresson just capturers just the face of a single child because that is a really hard thing do because of the large crowd. A large crowd is unpredictable so Henri Cartier-Bresson must of timed this image to perfection. This doesn’t help me with billboards or capturing images for billboards but it does help me in terms of adding meaning to images. I think the equipment Bresson used was a 18-50 lens because of how intermit the image is. Due to the times a film camera was most likely used for this image. I don’t think a tripod was used here because Bresson had to move quick to capture this image. A technique Bresson might of used was multiple image taking and chose the best image. The reason why I think Bresson used this technique is because of how perfect the moment is captured. I think I can take away the timing Bresson used to get image because I will have to move quick to get the building in the correct lighting.


 

To the right is an image by Henri Cartier-Bresson. This image makes mHenri cartier-bresson 1e laugh because the boy is holding 2 bottle of alcohol  and he looks happy. The boy maybe happy because he is lifting heavy bottles and is managing it ok. I like how Bresson gets the two girls in the background because it gives a new meaning to the image which is the boy maybe showing of to the girls by showing his strength. Capturing this moment must of taken a good sense of timing because a moment like this only lasts for a split second. This doesn’t relate to billboards but it does help me with adding meaning to images because Bresson’s work inspirers me to try and add more meaning to my images. I think the equipment Bresson used here was an 18-50 lens because of how close Bresson is. Due to the times a film camera was more likely used here. I can take away the lighting features because I really want to get the correct lighting when photographing the buildings because the correct lighting will make the buildings “pop”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

