UNIT 33 AND 48: Billboard sketchs

billboard sketches 1billboard sketches 2

1) The buildings I included in the sketch were Anglican Cathedral, Liverpool Lime Street station, Radio City, Liverbird building and Saint Georges Hall. The reason why I want to include these buildings is because they are recognisable building in Liverpool. Based of my Visit Liverpool website research I wanted to recreate something similar to the adverts I noticed on the website. I like how I have used the glass dome of Liverpool Lime Street station to lead the viewers eye to the other buildings. I want the “Visit Liverpool” text to curve around the buildings. If I cannot manage that I may put the text straight across the top of the billboard. I think this will appeal to the younger audience because the billboard is very modern and creative. The younger audience is very intone with modern and creative billboards because they are brought up in the digital age.

2) In the sketch I included Anglican Cathedral, Liverpool Lime Street station, Radio City, Liverbird Building and Saint Georges Hall. The reason why I want to include the buildings is because based on my questionnaire the building was a common answer. With the text I wanted to just have the words “Liverpool” because the buildings is what makes Liverpool in my opinion.  My inspiration for this design came from an image I pinned on my board via Pinterest. What I like about that image is how it just had famous Liverpool buildings and the word “Liverpool” because it clearly shows what Liverpool is about. I think this billboard will appeal to the mass audience because I think it can be found in a train station therefore all types of audience will see this.

3) The buildings I included in the sketch were Anglican Cathedral, Liverpool Lime Street station, Radio City, Liverbird building and Saint Georges Hall. I wanted to include these buildings because from the images I pinned on Pinterest I noticed the buildings was a recurring. With the text I wanted the words “Welcome To Liverpool” because from my billboard research I saw a plain billboard with the words “Welcome To Liverpool” but I felt it needed to have iconic Liverpool buildings to complement the words, so this sketch is my vision of how that billboard could of turned out. I think this billboard will appeal to the mass audience because I can see this going on the side of a bus in Liverpool therefore all types of audiences will see it.

4) I wanted to experiment with no words because based on an image I pinned on my Pinterest board. I liked the idea of just having famous Liverpool buildings because it just speaks “Liverpool” without having the words “Liverpool” there. I am including Radio City, Liverpool Lime Street station, Saint Georges Hall, Anglican Cathedral and Liverbird Building because they are buildings which speak “Liverpool”. Considering the billboards are aimed at people who have never been Liverpool I think this billboard is suitable because it will inform people of the buildings in Liverpool. I can see this billboard appealing to the older audience because of the historic building I have included.

5) I took my first sketch and put no words on it because I think the buildings included say “Liverpool” and don’t need words to explain where the buildings are. The only change I made from my first sketch was to add Saint Georges Hall at the bottom of the billboard. In hindsight I think this won’t work because it may make the billboard look busy which I don’t want because most people are going to see this will be just giving the billboard a glance because they are walking from place to place. Due to this fact I think this billboard will appeal to the mass audience.

6) I included Radio City, the Liverbird building, Liverpool Lime Street station, Saint Georges hall because these historic buildings to me will appeal to the older audience. In hindsight I don’t like this billboard because of how overcrowded the billboard is because it makes for a bad viewing. I love how there is no words because the buildings itself are describing Liverpool without words.  The reason why I think the buildings are describing Liverpool without no words is because they are the most iconic buildings in Liverpool.

7) On my Pinterest board I pinned an image which had all of the iconic Liverpool buildings in a row without words. I felt that image would work best with the words “Visit Liverpool” so this is my vision of that image. I think this billboard will appeal to both audiences because the digital side will appeal to the younger audience because the younger audience is more in tune with digital things. The older audience will like this billboard because of the historic buildings.

8) I recreated the 7th sketch I did and didn’t add any text because I wanted to see the difference between the two billboards. Overall I think the no word billboard is better because it is more creative. I think this billboard can appeal to both audiences because the younger audience will like the digital side of it and the older audience will like the history buildings used.

Leave a Reply

