UNIT 33 AND 48: Panoramic photography

Above is a link to my panoramic photography board on Pinterest. The reason why I am looking at panoramic photography is because looking at photomontages reminds me of panoramic photography. The reason why photomontages reminds me of panoramic photography is because some photomontages look similar to panoramics. There is 2 ways of doing panoramic. You can use an iPhone to take the panoramic or take multiple images and stitch them together in photoshop manually or digitally. Panoramic photography I think appeals to the younger audience because panoramic photography is very modern and the younger audience  is more in tune with modern things.


 

panoramic 1

I think this is a good example of panoramic photography because of how much land is in the shot. Having a lot of land in the image is a key feature of panoramic photography. I could see image being used for a modern billboard because of how sharp the image is. The image isn’t abstract which is good because most modern billboards are not abstract. Due to the image being taken during the morning of the day I am guessing the shutter speed was around 1/50 or 1/60 because a fast shutter speed is used when you have got a lot of light. Due to the image being shot in the daylight I am guessing the aperture is around F/2 because a large aperture is used when there is a lot of light around you because the hole in your camera is small when you have a large aperture. Due to the image being taken in the daylight I am guessing the ISO is around 100 because a low ISO is used for when you have a lot of light around you.


 

panoramic 2

I think a panoramic works well because there is a lot of buildings to get in one image therefore a panoramic would work well here because a panoramic capturers more than one shot. I can see this being used in a billboard about Liverpool because you have got Liver building which is the most recognisable building in Liverpool. I think the image would of been better if there was less clouds in the image because I feel it takes away from the image. The reason why I feel the clouds take away from the image is because your eye is drawn to the clouds when it should be drawn to the buildings. I think the photographer should of zoomed in more on the buildings because you cannot make out the buildings. Due to image being taken on a cloudy day I think the shutter speed is around 1/30 because the less light there is you need a slower shutter speed. A slower shutter speed takes in more light and due to the clouds covering the sun there wasn’t much light available to there photographer. Due to the clouds I am guessing the aperture is around F2 because the smaller aperture lets the camera take in more light, which is needed because the clouds covered the sun meaning there wasn’t much light available to the photographer. Due to the clouds I am guessing the ISO is around 200 because the higher you ISO is the camera is more sensitive to light.

 

Leave a Reply

