UNIT 33 AND 48: Photomontage

Above is a moodboard of photomontages. After looking at David Hockney’s work I really wanted to look into photomontages more in-depth. Looking at photomontages reminds me of collages because of how the images overlap. Photomontages also remind me of panoramic photography because the big images are similar in size to panoramic. Photomontage can be done traditionally and digitally. I am going to experiment with both so I can see how different they are. Due to photmontages being created by digital and traditonal methods I think photomontages are aimmed to both the younger and older audiences because the younger audience is more in tune with digital processes and the older audience is more in tune with traditonal processes.


 

photomontage 1
I like how the photomontage gives the chair a distorted look because it makes the chair looks like it has come from a distorted future. I don’t like how the top left of the chair has not been alined with the top of the chair because it doesn’t come across as a photomontage. The reason why it doesn’t come across as a photomontage is because all the images line up to create a bigger image. I cannot see this image used in a modern billboard because it is to mixed media for modern billboards. The reason why it is to mixed media for modern billboards is because modern billboards are mainly graphic and photography based.


photomontage 2
I like how the image portrays the model as having multiple personalities. I don’t like how the images don’t make one big image because that is the main feature of photomontages. I can see this being used for a personality disorder billboard but other than that I cannot see the photomontage being used for anything else.

Leave a Reply

