UNIT 33 AND 48: Liverpool moodboard

Above is a moodboard I created on Pinterest. The images on the board is famous places in Liverpool I want to use for my outcome. I won’t necessarily use the angles and composition in the images because I want to come up with my own way of capturing the famous places. I will how ever take the angles and composition as inspiration on how I can use the angles and composition and make them my own.


St georges hallThe image on the right side is of St George’s Hall in Liverpool. The way the photographer has composed the image is good but I would shoot the building from the front. The reason why I would shoot the building from the front is because the steps will “lead” the viewers eye up the stairs. The pillars will make a great “stopping” point for the viewers eye because I find you don’t want a viewers eye wondering the image for to long as they will move on to a different image. In Photoshop I may change the image to black and white as it is a historic building and I personally feel black and white works well with historic buildings because black and white is heavily linked to old photographs. As this image was most likely shot during the day I am guessing the shutter speed is around 1/60 because a slower shutter speed tends to be used for darker scenes. The aperture maybe around F4 or F5 because it daytime and the smaller apertures tend to be used for dark scenes. The ISO is around 100-200 because it is a bright day and you won’t need a high ISO because the higher ISO tends to be used for a dark scene.


liverpool anchor

The image on left side is of the Mersey Anchor in Liverpool. I don’t like how the photographer has composed the image here because you got the building then the sky which I find makes a very messy background. I would move myself so the background is only the sky. From looking at the image moving to the left will make the background all sky. Using the middle pole I could try to use that as a leading line to the sky as well which I feel will make viewers happy because it is good composition if it works. Due to my knowledge of the area I know there is the River Mersey by the location. Trying to add the River Mersey will add more meaning to the image because an Anchor should be in the sea not on land. I think HDR (High Dynamic Range) was possibly used in the image because of how vivid the sky is. HDR is where you stack the same image to create a more vivid image. This can be done in Photoshop automatically or manually. I am guessing this image was shot midday because of the suns placement therefore I am guessing the shutter speed was around 1/10 or 1/20 as there is less light during midday and slow shutter speeds increases the brightness during low light scenes. The aperture i think was around F2 or F3 because the smaller aperture helps increase the brightness during low light scenes. The ISO I think was around 400 or 500 because higher ISO is used to get more light during low light scenes.


liverbirds

The image on the right is of the Liverbird building. I don’t like how the image is composed here because of how of center the main building is. If I were to do this image I would center the building and zoom in more so you have only got the building and some sky. I think the photographer could increased the brightness of the image because it is very dull. Also the photographer could of increased the contrast as the image is very flat as well. HDR (High Dynamic Range) could of been used here to make the clouds more vivid than they are. I am guessing the picture was taken just after midday because of dull and flat the image is. Due to this I think the shutter speed could of been 1/10 or 1/20 because slow shutter speeds are used to increases the brightness during low light scenes.The aperture I think is around F3 or F4 because small apertures are used to increases brightness during low light scenes. The iso I think is 700 to 800 because higher ISO helps increases the brightness during low light scenes. I also think the ISO could of been 700 or 800 because of  how much grain there is on the image. The higher the ISO you are more likely to get grain in images. The image I think pixelated. This may be down to camera shake or the photographer has cropped into the image.

Leave a Reply

