UNIT 32 and 38: Sellotape transfer experiment 

To start with I printed my image out on plain and photo paper. The reason why I printed on both papers was to compare the difference between the two papers. I then gathered a pair of scissors, a ruler and some Selotape. I started on the plain paper image first. I put Selotape over the image, using the scissors I trimmed of the excess Selotape and using the ruler to push out any air bubbles. If any air bubbles were left then the transfare wouldn’t work as well. I repeated this until the the image was fully covered. Next I got a tub and filled it with cold water. I let the image soke for about a minute before rubbing on the back of the image to remove the paper. I let the transfer dry of on a tea towel before rubbing of excess paper. I repeated the same steps for the photo paper transfer. After I finished both transferes I found that the photo paper transfer   worked best. I believe the reason for this is because the plain paper is thin so when I dipped the paper into the water the image didn’t go on to the  Sellotape as planned. The reason why I believe the photo paper worked best is because the photo paper is thick so when the paper went into the water it transferred onto the Sellotape as planned. If I do this technique for my final outcome I will use photo paper instead of the plain paper. This technique is easily done on photoshop. You open up your image in Photoshop double click on the background layer then lower the opacity.
  
  
  

img002 img003

The transfer on the left is the photo paper transfer and on the right is the plain paper transfer.

Leave a Reply

